AVO Bogoslof ORANGE/WATCH - Heightened unrest continues. Significant explosive eruption on August 7th.

By Newsroom America Feeds at 11 Aug 21:35

Aug 12, 2017 00:50 - Following nearly a month of quiet, Bogoslof erupted again on Monday, August 7th, as detected in seismic, infrasound, lightning, and satellite data. The eruption began at about 10:00 AM AKDT (18:00 UTC) and continued through about 13:00 AKDT (21:00 UTC), producing an ash cloud to at least 32,000 feet. Satellite measurements of sulfur dioxide (SO2) in the eruption cloud indicated the second highest mass erupted since the onset of the eruption in December 2016. Satellite images of the island taken on August 8th show new tephra deposits have surrounded the vent area, forming ...

https://www.avo.alaska.edu/activity/avoreport.php

Categories:
Tags:

[D] [Digg] [FB] [R] [SU] [Tweet] [G]

NEWSMAIL