Summer fun with parks, water, and travel - Texas Highways, July 2016

By Newsroom America Feeds at 30 Jun 2016

Having trouble reading this email? View in your browser http://txdot.gov/txdot_library/newsletters/texas_highways/0716b.htm.

Texas Highways, The Travel Magazine of Texas http://www.texashighways.com/

Abilene is Culture & Sole http://www.abilenevisitors.com/

Cover Photo

Content Divider

Story Thumbnail http://texashighways.com/family-travel/item/8217-tubes-o-fun-schlitterbahn-waterparks "Tubes O’ Fun" http://texashighways.com/family-travel/item/8217-tubes-o-fun-schlitterbahn-waterparks

Family fun floats full circle at Schlitterbahn’s four Texas waterparks, where generations of sun-seekers find an ever-evolving lineup of splashy adventures.

Story Thumbnail http://texashighways.com/travel/item/8218-mckinney-squared "McKinney Squared" http://texashighways.com/travel/item/8218-mckinney-squared

Refresh yourself with a visit to McKinney’s revitalized downtown square, home to a walkable collection of shops, galleries, and eateries.

Story Thumbnail http://texashighways.com/history/item/8219-hail-to-the-boys-of-the-civilian-conservation-corps-texas-state-parks "Hail to the Boys of the CCC" http://texashighways.com/history/item/8219-hail-to-the-boys-of-the-civilian-conservation-corps-texas-state-parks

The Civilian Conservation Corps offered relief and fulfillment to thousands of struggling Texans during the Great Depression. Their beautiful handiwork lives on at parks across the state.

"Tell us your top Main Street(s)!" http://texashighways.com/mainstreet

Tell us your favorite main drag in the state, whether it’s along a quaint courthouse square or within a buzzing cityscape. (“Main” does not have to be in the name.) We’ll reveal your top Main Street destinations in 2017.

Content Divider

*Also this month:* Wakeboarding at Waco’s Barefoot Ski Ranch http://www.texashighways.com/travel/item/8220-ski-waco-barefoot-ski-ranch, The 1877 Fulton Mansion http://www.texashighways.com/history/item/8221-pioneers-of-posh-fulton-mansion-state-historic-site-rockport in Rockport, Desert Critter Wear http://www.texashighways.com/culture-lifestyle/item/8222-sleep-tight-desert-critter-wear-marathon from Marathon, Amarillo’s tribute to Quarter Horses http://www.texashighways.com/culture-lifestyle/item/8223-equine-shrine-american-quarter-horse-hall-of-fame-museum-amarillo, McKinney’s Patina Green http://www.texashighways.com/food-drink/item/8224-green-living-patina-green-home-market-mckinney, mosey the Fort Worth Ale Trail http://www.texashighways.com/food-drink/item/8225-all-hail-the-ale-trail-fort-worth-brewery-tours, the Trailblazer Grille http://www.texashighways.com/food-drink/item/8226-the-crust-is-a-must-trailblazer-grille-burnet in Burnet, a coastal getaway to Bolivar Peninsula http://texashighways.com/travel/item/8227-back-to-the-bolivar-peninsula, North Texas rodeo museums http://texashighways.com/culture-lifestyle/item/8228-duded-up-north-texas-rodeo-museums, an Athens http://www.texashighways.com/daytripper/item/8229-daytripper-athens day trip, and the simple joys of a small-town escape http://www.texashighways.com/travel/item/8230-get-away-just-do-it.

Content Divider Shop the Gift Shop! http://shop.texashighways.com/ Luling Icehouse Pottery Bird Bottle http://shop.texashighways.com/books/calendars/2017-em-texas-highways-em-wall-calendar

The "Texas Highways’" 2017 wall calendar http://shop.texashighways.com/books/calendars/2017-em-texas-highways-em-wall-calendar showcases the beauty of the Lone Star State, as seen through the lenses of gifted photographers. From Big Bend to the coast and the Hill Country to the Piney Woods, you will enjoy exploring Texas scenery every month. 13½" × 21½" when open. *Buy Texan!* http://shop.texashighways.com/true-texas

Subscribe to 12 issues of Texas Highways for only $24.95! http:/www.texashighways.com/subscribe

Looking for "Texas Highways" at your local newsstand http://www.wheresmymagazine.com/?

From our partners

*Ranch Run & Wine Festival http://www.mtpleasanttx.com/* Run a 5K/15K on the Priefert Ranch in Mount Pleasant, then visit Camp Langston for the Uncorked Wine Festival. October 8th.

Join Texas Highways on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/TexasHighways Pinterest http://pinterest.com/texashighways/ Twitter https://twitter.com/TexasHighways YouTube http://www.youtube.com/user/TexasHighwaysDotCom

Subscribe to Texas Highways Extra https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXDOT/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXDOT_370

Free Texas Travel Information https://texastravelleads.com/ttl_order

Published monthly by the Texas Department of Transportation, "Texas Highways", the official travel magazine of Texas, encourages travel within the Lone Star State and tells the Texas story to readers around the world.

You are receiving this message from "Texas Highways" magazine because you requested it or because you have contacted "Texas Highways" magazine and provided your email address. To ensure our message always reaches your inbox, please add TxHighways@govdelivery.com to your address book.

If you do not wish to receive future messages, click here to unsubscribe or

Categories:

[D] [Digg] [FB] [R] [SU] [Tweet] [G]

NEWSMAIL